Jerome, Arizona

Jerome Arizona, a whimsical old mining town which I find so very enchanting, and I always feel the urge to wear black when I visit…is it because of its wicked past, or maybe I feel like I am in mourning.

Once known as the wickedest town in the west, Jerome was a copper mining camp, growing from a settlement of tents to a roaring mining community.

Four disastrous fires destroyed large sections of the town during its early history, resulting in the incorporation of the City of Jerome in 1899 .

 In 1967 Jerome was designated a National Historic District by the federal government. Today Jerome is a thriving tourist and artist community with a population of about 450…It includes a modicum of artists, craft people, musicians, writers, hermits, bed and breakfast owners, museum caretakers, gift shop proprietors and fallen-down-building landlords

Once a popular mining town, today the mines are silent, and Jerome has become the largest ghost town in America. As much as I love a creepy cool town, I feel a certain chill that runs all the way down my spine.

Seems I’m not the only one who likes to wear black here. These beautiful woman seem almost ghostly as they walked down the street.

I almost forgot why I was here, oh yea,  to do a photo shoot. There was so many very rustic places to shoot, but  I found the perfect spot.

The rustic stones and hanging ivy made this the perfect backdrop.

The sun was setting fast , so I was only able to get about five good shots.

…..

…..

After the photo shoot we went to The Haunted Hamburger to eat . The food was excellent. I had the chicken and ribs and for $13.99 it was worth every penny. The view was amazing as we were pretty much at the  top of this town.

Leo loved this place and he  wanted to hang out all night. I was ready to leave as soon as the sun starting going down.

…..

Is it worth your time to visit? The answer is a resounding yes! Jerome is an enchanting town, and a photographer’s paradise. From its external appearances it hasn’t changed much in nearly 100 years. Due to the 30-degree incline of the mountainside, gravity has pulled a number of buildings down the slope. 

Next post Sedona , Arizona. One of the most amazing places I have ever had the pleasure to photograph.

All information from www.azjerome.com/

2 thoughts on “Jerome, Arizona

Leave a Reply

