Back on a Bike

I have had some emails asking what should you look for when buying a bike. Most of us haven’t rode a bike in well 10 years, or maybe 20. Leo’s grandma got back on a bike and rode all day at Venice Beach, and she’s 72, I was impressed ! So getting back on a bike isn’t always so easy. And  we sometimes make the wrong choice when purchasing a bike. l I purchased three bikes this last year and realized all I needed was the jenny-7-speed- Schwinn. I bought a cool beach cruiser and gave it away to my daughter. Then another beach cruiser and sold it at a garage sale. I love beach cruisers and everyone rides them at the California beaches but I needed speeds when I was on a long bike ride. I love the lunus bikes but they are out of my price range, and of course the new beg bicycles wow, beautiful . I made a  list below for bike must haves .

1.must have a removable basket, for everything .

2.must have  a bell, to ring on the busy bike trails.

3.must have a  least 5 speeds, I have 7 but 5 is good. 10 to 21  for lots of hills.

4.must have a comfortable seat, do I need to say more ?

5.must have a back rack, I put my camera bag here.

6.you must have canvas shoes, heels and bikes don’t mix.

I recommend the Hybrid – Schwinn – 21 speed – Aluminum. This is the replacement for the bike I have and I love it. It’s cool enough for the California beaches and light enough to put on my bike rack , and I like the retro styling.

The 700C Schwinn Solitaire Hybrid Bike is the perfect way to commute to work and see the city in style. Hit the trail on this hybrid bicycle that features an upright riding position with padded saddle for a comfortable ride. The SR Suntour suspension fork is designed to absorb every shock and keep you at ease. You can choose from 21 speeds and SRAM grip shifters and linear pull-brakes allow for easy gear changes and stops. The 700C women’s Schwinn bike features high-quality Aluminum City Frame .  $ 249 online at Target… cycle or…
Northwoods Ladies Springdale 21 Speed Hybrid Bicycle White
http://www.amazon.com/Northwoods-Ladies-Springdale-Hybrid-Bicycle

 

Hybrid – Kent – 21 speed – Aluminum

Northwoods Crosstown 21 speed Hybrid Bicycle is perfect for anyone looking for a dependable bicycle for commuting or recreational use. A hand crafted lightweight aluminum frame, 700c alloy rims, Shimano components and even a rear rack create an amazing value. Available in white (Womens) and black (Mens). Model # 92793 Features: Recreational/commuter bike with a comfortable, upright riding position 700c wheels and a lightweight aluminum frame 21 speeds with a Shimano Tourney rear derailleur Alloy rims; alloy quick release seat clamp; linear pull brakes Rear rack and fenders
I will have more posts on biking the California coast, and thanks for the emails. And have a great weekend !