Making coffee from a French Press

How to make the perfect cup of coffee from a French press is a question I get asked a lot , so I thought I would create this post.  I have four French presses, from $39.99 from Starbuck’s to $5.99 from a thrift store. I use all of them . Bodum is recognized as a leading maker of a French press, and you can pick up a Bodum from Target or Starbucks  for $39.99. I get my coffee from Trader Joe’s and I grind the coffee coarse . A French press requires coffee of a coarser grind , as finer grounds will seep through the press filter and into the coffee.  I keep my coffee in an airtight stainless steel container.

I measure 1 tablespoon of coffee for every cup of boiling water. If you like stronger coffee measure 1 1/2 tablespoons for every cup of boiling water .  Most French presses are 6 to 8 cups.

Pour in your boiling water.

Stir it and leave to brew for four minutes, then press the plunger all the way down to trap the coffee grounds at the bottom of the beaker.

Because the coffee grounds remain in direct contact with the brewing water and the grounds are filtered from the water via a mesh instead of a paper filter, coffee brewed with the French press captures more of the coffee’s flavour.

Pour your coffee  immediately into your coffee cup.

Now you have a cup of rich robust coffee.

I love to use cream for my coffee with raw suger…

add a french cookie and enjoy !

Please let me know if you have any more questions and I will email you back, and thank-you for all your emails,

am sharing this post with .abeachcottage

 xoxo Cheryl.

4 thoughts on “Making coffee from a French Press

  1. I took my beautiful snowflake-patterned French press from the cupboard and will try it tomorrow morning. The press was a gift from my California son, his lovely lady and their beautiful son — who are the sunshine of my life!

  2. I only drink French press coffee at home too, it really is the best way to get a flavorful cup! What a great idea to do a tutorial on how to make it and I love your photos!

Leave a Reply

