A Spring Green Meal

I love cooking simple and  fresh  meals. I don’t have a lot of time to cook,  but I want a fresh meal for Leo and Darrill.  Here is one of my favoite spring green meals.

 

I start with fresh organic spinach, fresh basil,  artichokes , cucumbers and limes, which I buy at my local farmers market.

Then I put a chicken half in a piece of foil and I add fresh basil and spinach, and garnish with slices of limes , garlic salt and pepper. Then I bake  it in the oven at 400 for 35 min

 

Then I put the artichokes in salted boiling water for 30 min. 

I buy my spices from Spice Merchants in Temecula Ca. I love their picnic blend, I add it to sour cream for a great dip for the artichokes.

Next I make  my green salad with spinach, cucumbers, fresh basil and a few red grapes or black olives.

I add fresh tortellini from my market which I cooked for ten min.  and top off the  salad  with olive oil and parmesan cheese .

 

 This meal goes perfect with fresh brewed green tea garnish with a  slice of lime.

The chicken is done and smells wonderful, this meal is low-fat and healthy too ! Hope you enjoy .    

  

Leave a Reply

